About the Workshop

Multimedia Workshop participants at the 2018 Mayborn Literary Lights dinner. Row 1: Leah Waters (Workshop Director), Sarah Hendartono, Alicia Babcock, Elizabeth Pickett, Maddie Cargile Row 2: Troy Guter (Workshop Editor), Neha Madhira, Ellen Daly, Ashly Ibarra, Kennedy McGilvery, Kayla Davis (Workshop Editor) Photo by Kara Dry

2017 Workshop Participants Row 1: Christianna Simon (Writer), Lauryn Jones (Video Editor), and Juliette Strope (Anchor, Video editor)  Row 2: Dylan Benson (Writer, Voice over, Web design), Tanya Raghu (Web design, Writer), Lauren Bannister (Writer, Video Editor, Web design, Voice over), Madeline Badowski (Anchor, Video editor), and Molly Chambers (Producer, Anchor, Video Editor, Voice over) Row 3: Alexis Rosebrock (Photographer, Web design), Jennifer Zhan (Writer), Olivia Betka (Web design, Broadcast Floor Manager), Sanjana Reddy (Writer, Video editor), Nina Melishkevich (Writer), and Alleyah Brown (Writer) Row 4: Leah Waters (Director), Troy Guter (Producer), Kayla Davis (Producer), and Tyrese Boone (Video editor)  Photo by Alexis Rosebrock

The Mayborn School of Journalism Multimedia High School Workshop is a week-long residential workshop designed to give students a hands-on experience in storytelling in a multimedia world.

The first segment of the workshop is held at the Mayborn Literary Nonfiction Conference at the DFW Hilton in Grapevine where students meet noted authors and aspiring writers. They also tweet and write blogs. At the UNT campus in Denton, students are challenged even more and create a multimedia production by the end of the week.

Eligible students are incoming high school juniors, seniors and recent high school graduates. It is open to Texas residents only. The workshop fee is $250, which covers hotel, food and all expenses, excluding transportation to Grapevine at the start of the conference and home from the UNT campus in Denton at the end of the workshop.


Workshop participant Neha Madhira sits down with Dean Dorothy Bland to discuss press rights and how they’ve changed since she got her start in journalism.

Application submission deadline: May 5, 2018.

The workshop director is Leah Waters. The workshop counselors are Troy Guter and Kayla Davis.

Mayborn School of Journalism

Thank you to our sponsors:

Image result for wordpress logo

Dean Dorothy Bland, Mayborn School of Journalism